Bihar Legislators Cast their Votes in Presidential Election

Bihar Legislators standing in line to cast their vote in the Presidential election on Monday.

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Patna: Bihar legislators representing a host of political parties cast their ballots for their choice for the next President of India as polling began at the Bihar Assembly Library at 10:00 am on Monday morning in Patna.

Polling was nearly 100% as most legislators dropped their votes in person with only a couple of them taking part in the process from their jail cells.

Starting 9:00 am, legislators with their IDs started to arrive at the state Assembly library and waited in line for their turn. Around 12:00 pm, both sons of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Lalu Prasad Yadav – Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav and Health Minister Tej Pratap Yadav – voted for the opposition candidate Meira Kumar. Others soon to follow included Congress leader and Education Minister Ashok Kumar Chowdhary and former Janata Dal – U legislator, now an Independent, and jail bird Anant Singh.

The polling officially closed at 5:00 pm though the last person to cast his vote was around 2:30 pm.

Talking to the reporters, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Prem Kumar expressed confidence in NDA candidate and former Governor of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind saying not only the entire NDA was behind Kovind, many of the non-NDA leaders also voted for Mr. Kovind.

"Cross-voting in the Presidential election is driving the RJD leaders crazy," he said.

Former Deputy Chief Minister and BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi also expressed confidence in Kovind's candidacy and thanked Janata Dal – U leader and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for rallying behind the former Governor of Bihar.

RJD leader and Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav, however, insisted opposition candidate Meira Kumar had the edge and the result may be shocking to many.


More News...

Bihar Congress Celebrates Rahul Gandhi's Upcoming Promotion

Nov 21, 2017
Congress leaders congratulating Rahul Gandhi at Sadaqat Ashram on Monday.
Patna: Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee (BPCC) members celebrated the impending election of Rahul Gandhi as the national President of the Congress…

Beur Jail's Outer Walls to be Raised by Three Feet

Nov 21, 2017
Prison IG Anand Kishore reviewing security system at Patna's Beur Jail on Monday.
Patna: Just days after Chief Minister Nitish Kumar delivered a strong populist speech at the Hajipur Jail where he inaugurated a host of schemes for…

Anti-encroachment Drive at Maurya Lok Shopping Complex

Nov 21, 2017
Anti-encroachment Drive at Maurya Lok Shopping Complex
Patna: The annual ritual of removing illegal encroachment from Maurya Lok Shopping Complex began on Monday with Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC)…

Lalu Banks on Tejaswi, Hardik Patel to Uproot BJP

Nov 20, 2017
RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav speaking at Hotel Maurya in Patna on Sunday.
Patna: Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, speaking at the party's working committee meeting at Hotel Maurya in Patna on Sunday,…

Man Shot Dead in his Home; Police Grill his Wife

Nov 20, 2017
 50-year old Assi Ahmed killed in his home in Patna.
Patna: Police in Patna were investigating the murder of a local shop owner who apparently died of a bullet wound at his home in Samanpura under…

CM Reviews Work on Various Flyover Projects in Patna

Nov 20, 2017
Nitish Kumar surveying GPO-Chiraiyantand flyover bridge in Patna on Saturday.
Patna: Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Saturday surveyed the upcoming flyover between the Patna GPO and Chiraiyantand that is scheduled to open for…

View Your Patna


Your Favorite Recipes on PD


Latest Comments

Recent Articles in Readers Write, Lifestyle, Feature, and Blog Sections